Miramiralls Hall of Mirrors
In 1905, Spain’s first concave-convex mirrors were installed at Tibidabo funicular railway stations. The warped and deforming images they produced attracted thousands of visitors, which is why they remained there so long.
They've since been relocated over the years to different areas of the Amusement Park, finally ending up in today’s Hall of Mirrors which opened in 2008, where surprising visual effects and new technology have been added to the classic mirrors.
Originally known as the Aerial Railway, this was the first major ride in the Amusement Park. A copy of the Wuppertal railway (Germany), it was opened in 1915 according to the designs of engineer Marià Rubió. The route cleverly combines great views with amazing stage sets.
In 1980, the gondolas were modernised along with the gondoliers who up until that point had guided them. In 1991 a new ride, based on a magic theme, was renamed Aeromàgic.
Since 2005 it has been known as the Witches and Wizards Den and includes surprising light, colour and smell effects.
In 2016, the ride underwent a total renovation with technological innovations and lighting, sound, smell and colour effects. It is now known as L'Embruixabruixes
In 1921 the Talaia lookout tower was opened - an imposing 50-metre high metal structure that takes visitors up to a height of 551m above sea level. It was such a resounding success that many people attributed it with having healing properties. For example, it was thought that if children with whooping cough spent a few minutes at the top they would be cured.
Today, it remains one of the world’s unique attractions - one that hasn't lost its ability to provide an unforgettable experience.
L'Avió airplane ride
This was the last great work by Dr Andreu and is perhaps the Amusement Park’s most representative attraction. "It transports you like a giant bird over an amazing backdrop and you will feel as if you are flying in a real plane” was how it was reported in 1928 when the attraction first opened.
Built in the Estrada workshops in the Sarrià district of Barcelona, and put together by Fath engineers under the direction of Marià Rubió, it is a replica of the first aircraft to fly from Barcelona to Madrid. Interestingly, it is powered by its own propeller and inside it still preserves some of original parts from the period - such as the 1933 radio-telephone station.
On 31 January 2017 the aircraft was dismantled for the first time following 88 years in operation, to be restored while maintaining the structure and essence of the original attraction. Up until then, it had travelled a distance equivalent to 20 trips round the world.
From the day the Amusement Park was opened in 1901, automata and automatic machines from different European countries were included. From 1925 to 1954 however it was the Park employees themselves who built them.
Currently, the oldest piece is "The Mandolin Clown" dating from 1880. However, others of note include the popular "Tightrope Walkers", "The Prodigious Orchestra", “The Poet Goes to Sleep" and "La Monyos" - a famous personality from the Rambla boulevard in Barcelona in the 1930s. The collection was so famous that Walt Disney even showed interest in purchasing it in 1957 during a visit to the Amusement Park. Luckily, he went home empty handed as the company refused to sell it to him!
At the end of the 1970s the collection was removed from the Park to be fully restored, and since 1982 it has formed part of the Automata Museum. The museum is located in a modernist building dating from 1909 and is one of the world's greatest collections.
The most recent acquisition was “The Gaüs Brothers or The Balancing of The World”, a latest-generation automaton created by the Museum’s current restorer and curator Lluís Ribas. It was finalist for the Aichi Universal Exhibition in Japan in 2005.