The Hall of Mirrors
In 1905 the first concave-convex mirrors in Spain were installed in Tibidabo's funicular railway stations. The resulting weird and warped reflections drew large numbers of visitors, which is why they remained there so long. They've since been relocated many times over the years in the Park, finally ending their journey in the Hall of Mirrors, which was opened in 2008, where they stand side by side with other amazing visual effects, illusions and new technology.
The Witches and Wizards Den
Originally known as the the aeriel railway, which was the first ever ride in Tibidabo. A copy of the Wuppertal railway (Germany) was opened in 1915 under the management of engineer MariÃ RubiÃ³. The route cleverly combines fantastic views with amazing stage sets. In 1980, the gondolas were modernized and the gondoliers who guided them consequently disappeared. In 1991, a new ride based on a magic theme was renamed Aeromagic. Since 2005 it has been known as the Witches and Wizards Den and contains impressive special effects of light, colour and smells, etc, combined with the amazing views of Barcelona.
Atalaya - The Lookout Tower
In 1921 the Atalaya Lookout or â€˜Big Lever', was opened. It's an imposing 50-metre high metal structure that takes visitors up to a combined height of 551 metres above sea level. It was a resounding success. So much so in fact that many people attributed it with having healing properties. For example, if children with whooping cough spent a number of minutes at the top they would be cured. Today, it's still a truly unique ride that hasn't lost its ability to offer us an unforgettable experience.
This was the last great work of Dr Andreu and is perhaps the most emblematic ride in the Park. In the words of the marketing announcement back in 1928, "It transports you like a giant bird over an amazing backdrop, and you will feel as if you were flying in a (real) plane." Built in the Estrada workshops in Sarria (Barcelona), and planned by the Fath engineers under the management of MariÃ RubiÃ³, it is a replica of the first aircraft that flew the Barcelona-Madrid route. Interestingly, it is powered by its own propeller and inside it still preserves some of original parts from the period, such as those from the 1933 radio-telephone station.
From the day the Park was opened in 1901, automatons and automatic machines were imported from a number of European countries. But, from 1925 to 1954, it was the Park employees themselves who built them. Currently, the oldest example is "The Mandolin Clown" from 1880. But there are others of note such as the popular "Tightrope Walkers", "The Prodigious Orchestra", The Poet goes to sleep" and "La MoÃ±os", a famous personality who frequented the Rambla boulevard in Barcelona in the 1930s. The Collection was so famous that even Walt Disney wanted to buy it in 1957 during a visit to Tibidabo. Luckily, he went home empty handed as the company refused to sell it to him! At the end of the 1970s the collection was taken away to be fully restored, and since 1982 it has enjoyed pride of place in the Automaton Museum. This collection is located in a modernist building dating from 1909 and is one of the world's greatest collections. The latest addition is "The GaÃ¼s brothers or the balancing of the world". It's a new generation automaton and was a finalist in the Aichi Universal Exhibition in Japan in 2005.